Lack of Environment

A blog on the politics and psychology underlying the denial of all our environmental problems

Slow Down Climate Chaos

with 4 comments

slow down climate chaos

On motorways, your car will use about 33% less fuel if driven at 60mph instead of 80mph.

In my car, this equates to approximately 10p/mile instead of 15p/mile.

As such, for me, it has been an easy behaviour modification to make.

However, as so many seem unable to do it, I have decided to put this sign in the back window of my car.

Written by Martin Lack

24 April 2014 at 12:26

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 2014/04/24: LoE: Slow Down Climate Chaos […]

  2. Excellent! I think I’m gonna grab your image and put it in my back window too.

    On motorways, your car will use about 33% less fuel if driven at 60mph instead of 80mph.

    Do you have a source for that? I’ve been thinking about making a bumper sticker to promote this idea for a while now, but the one I had in mind was aimed at trying to emphasise the potential cost savings of driving more slowly. As such, the numbers rattling around in my head are “19% saving driving at 55mph rather than 70mph” — sorry, I have nothing to back those numbers up either! I did have, someplace… hmm… a quick search leads me to drive55.org. Clever thing, sometimes, this innerwebz malarkey. Now, why doesn’t that site offer bumper sticker image downloads? Crap thing, sometimes, this innerwebz malarkey…

    pendantry

    7 May 2014 at 12:06

    • Thanks. I did consider sending the idea to a relevant charity (to get them to mass produce it as a car sticker on a not for profit basis). My quotation is based on personal experience. I also notice that driving at 60 mph on motorways achieves a 62.5% reduction in fuel consumption compared with general pottering about (off motorways) otherwise.

      Martin Lack

      8 May 2014 at 14:29

    • For the record: A 25% reduction in speed will give more than 25% saving on fuel consumption because of the non-linear nature of the relationship between speed and wind-resistance.

      Martin Lack

      8 May 2014 at 14:37


Please join the discussion

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

